Unbiased look at the Sint Maarten Elections

St Maarten Elections In The News Back to News Listing

Parliament Strikes Down Mp BrisonS Proposal Of Order To Sack Chairlady Of Parliament

Source: SXMIslandTime 17 Oct 2022 03:48 PM

Philipsburg, Sint Maarten – On Monday, October 17th, the Parliament of Sint Maarten handled to proposal of order to thank and relieve the Chairlady of Parliament, the Honorable Grisha Heyliger Marten of her duties.

The proposal, which was supported by MPs William Marlin and George Pantophlet and presented by leader of the United Peoples Party, the Honorable Rolando Brison on Monday, September 19th was finally put to a vote on Monday.

This resulted in some nine (9) Members of Parliament voting against the proposal, while six ( 6) MPs voted for. Voting for the proposal of order were Members of Parliament Rolando Brison, Sidharth Bijlani (UP) George Pantophlet, William Marlin, Angelique Romou and Hyacinth Richardson (NA).

It now means that MP Grisha Heyliger Marten, who chaired the meeting will continue in her position of Chairlady of Parliament of Sint Maarten.

The post Parliament strikes down MP Brison’s proposal of order to sack Chairlady of Parliament appeared first on SXM IslandTime.

George Pantophlet mentioned 2 times
Hyacinth Richardson mentioned 1 time
Sidharth Bijlani mentioned 1 time
William Marlin mentioned 2 times
Rolando Brison mentioned 2 times
Grisha Heyliger-Marten mentioned 2 times

United People's Party [UPP] mentioned 1 time Corner Stone Solutions NV